Thursday, 11 November 2021 21:13

FIM MiniGP World Final concludes the season in style

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Spain, Italy and Ireland Series riders take podiums and lock out the top five in the inaugural event

The 2021 FIM MiniGP World Final was an incredible conclusion to the first season of the FIM MiniGP World Series. Two races worth standards points and then the Super Final Race - worth double points - decided the Champion, with FIM MiniGP Spain Series rider Izan Rodriguez coming out on top after doing the triple.

Spain's Pablo Olivares came second overall and took two podiums, with Italian Cristian Borrelli taking third overall after also finishing on the rostrum twice. The other podium finisher was FIM MiniGP Ireland Series rider Josh O'Brien, who took some spoils in Race 1.

Pedro Matos (6th) and Martim Reis (8th) were the top Portughese riders, country classified in fourth place overall.

After Qualifying Race that saw the top two move through, the first points on offer were decided. Rodriguez got the perfect start and the holeshot, but Olivares was close on the chase. They took a 1-2 for Spain, with O'Brien impressing to convert fourth on the grid to a podium finish in P3.

With one more rider on the grid, the winner of Qualifying Race 2, there were 25 more points up for grabs and Rodriguez once again took an early lead. He had Olivares as his shadow again too, with the two eventually crossing the line split by almost nothing in another 1-2.

This time around, the close fight for the podium was won by Cristian Borrelli as the FIM MiniGP Italy Series rider made an impressive step forward.


With 50 points on the line it all came down to the final race, and this time around Rodriguez didn't get the holeshot - closest rival Olivares did. But it didn't take too long for the points leader to strike back and attack, taking over in the lead once again.

Olivares then got embroiled in the group fight behind, and Rodriguez pulled away to take his third win of the day and impress. Borrelli and compatriot Edoardo Liguori came out on top in the group scrap, taking second and third respectively.

Rodriguez took a clean sweep to become the inaugural Champion and Olivares two second places and a fourth, so it's a Spain 1-2. Borrelli's progress throughout the day was rewarded with third overall, just one points off Olivares.

Liguori takes fourth in the standings after the first MiniGP World Final, with Ireland Series star O'Brien continuing his pace in Race 2 and the Super Final to lock out P5 for 2021.

The top three in 2021!

100/100 = Izan Rodriguez is the 2021 Champion!

Read 239 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.