Thursday, 10 December 2020 21:48

Delétraz tops final day of F2 post-season testing in Sakhir

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Louis Deletraz topped the third and final day of post-season testing in Sakhir, recording a time of 1:41.872 in the morning session, before switching his attention to longer runs in the afternoon.

Jehan Daruvala impressed again, the Carlin racer led the timesheets on days one and two and finished second overall on Thursday, 0.178s off Deletraz’s time. While, Daruvala’s fellow Red Bull junior Jüri Vips clinched third with Hitech Grand Prix.


The field focused their attention on getting plenty of laps under their belts on the final morning of post-season testing, though there were some competitive times set. Deletraz led for almost the entire session, setting the benchmark at 1:41.827 in the opening stages. 

Ralph Boschung was second for a while, six tenths off, but had dropped down to seventh by the end of the morning after his car came to a halt on the main straight and forced him out of the session. Bent Viscaal was another to stop on the main straight, which also ended his day early.

Having dominated the first two days, Daruvala put his name back towards the top of the timesheets in the final 90 minutes, getting up to P2, 0.178s off the pace. The Indian two tenths faster than his teammate, Dan Ticktum, in fourth.

Hitech’s Red Bull junior team pairing continued to impress on the final morning, as Vips took third and Liam Lawson fifth. There was also space in the top ten for two more Formula 3 race winners, as Lirim Zendeli posted the sixth fastest time, with Logan Sargeant taking P8.

Christian Lundgaard and Guilherme Samaia completed the top ten with ART Grand Prix and Campos.

Drugovich topped the afternoon session with UNI-Virtuosi

Samaia returned from the break and built on a positive morning’s worked, setting the fastest lap inside of the opening hour. Testing with Charouz, the Brazilian’s tour of 1:43.612 beat off competition from David Beckmann and Roberto Merhi. The trio would finish the session in sixth, eighth and ninth.

Logan Sargeant had put in an impressive 35 laps with Campos before Theo Pourchaire stopped on track and brought out a brief red flag. The American got straight back out there afterwards and finished the afternoon on 53.

Roy Nissany got stuck into some fast laps and punched in a time quick enough for second, less than a tenth off Samaia. The DAMS’ racer ended up dropping down to seventh. Nissany’s teammate, Marcus Armstrong, then chucked on a fresh pair of boots and broke the1m 43s barrier.

Felipe Drugovich and Oscar Piastri joined the Kiwi in swapping for a fresh set, going first and second in the final half an hour.  The UNI-Virtuosi racer had spent most of the afternoon in the garage but returned to the track with a lap of 1:42.435.

Robert Shwartzman popped up in fourth in the final half an hour, with Clement Novalak taking P5 in the second Virtuosi. Matteo Nannini completed the top ten with HWA RACELAB.


                DRIVER                   TEAM                    LAPTIME             LAPS

1             Louis Delétraz   MP Motorsport 1:41.872               25

2             Jehan Daruvala Carlin    1:42.005               31

3             Juri Vips               Hitech Grand Prix            1:42.145               46

4             Dan Ticktum       Carlin    1:42.302               30

5             Liam Lawson      Hitech Grand Prix            1:42.304               40

6             Lirim Zendeli      MP Motorsport 1:42.409               35

7             Ralph Boschung               Campos Racing 1:42.479               9

8             Logan Sargeant Campos Racing 1:42.524               26

9             Guilherme Samaia           Charouz Racing System 1:42.606               36

10           Christian Lundgaard       ART Grand Prix 1:42.695               39

11           Felipe Drugovich              UNI-Virtuosi      1:42.697               39

12           Robert Shwartzman       PREMA Racing   1:42.818               32

13           Marino Sato       Trident 1:43.009               16

14           Clément Novalak             UNI-Virtuosi      1:43.028               37

15           Théo Pourchaire              ART Grand Prix 1:43.164               28

16           Bent Viscaal        Trident 1:43.478               35

17           Oscar Piastri       PREMA Racing   1:43.521               30

18           Roberto Merhi  BWT HWA RACELAB       1:43.704               19

19           David Beckmann              Charouz Racing System 1:43.966               19

20           Matteo Nannini BWT HWA RACELAB       1:44.749               22

21           Marcus Armstrong          DAMS   1:47.574               41

22           Roy Nissany       DAMS   1:47.964               43


                DRIVER                            TEAM         LAPTIME             LAPS

1             Felipe Drugovich              UNI-Virtuosi      1:42.435               26

2             Oscar Piastri                   PREMA Racing   1:42.784               33

3             Marcus Armstrong          DAMS   1:42.827               25

4             Robert Shwartzman       PREMA Racing   1:43.268               32

5             Clément Novalak             UNI-Virtuosi      1:43.411               35

6             Guilherme Samaia           Charouz Racing System 1:43.612               41

7             Roy Nissany                     DAMS   1:43.652               32

8             Roberto Merhi            BWT HWA RACELAB       1:43.665               29

9             David Beckmann              Charouz Racing System 1:43.922               47

10           Matteo Nannini           BWT HWA RACELAB       1:44.228               28

11           Lirim Zendeli              MP Motorsport 1:45.504               38

12           Louis Deletraz           MP Motorsport 1:46.787               42

13           Liam Lawson                 Hitech Grand Prix            1:47.218               42

14           Logan Sargeant              Campos Racing 1:47.387               53

15           Marino Sato                      Trident 1:47.527               49

16           Jüri Vips                          Hitech Grand Prix            1:47.727               36

17           Théo Pourchaire              ART Grand Prix 1:47.914               15

18           Christian Lundgaard       ART Grand Prix 1:48.074               47

19           Jehan Daruvala                     Carlin    1:48.236               50

20           Dan Ticktum                         Carlin    1:48.258               50

--            Ralph Boschung               Campos Racing --            0

--            Bent Viscaal        Trident --            0

Read 134 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.